OrangeHipsters











{February 18, 2011}   For the love of Coffee, how to do syrups

It’s a taste of heaven, a dark delicious devil in disguise, and my way of life. I can’t help it, I love the richness of it! Of course street price of a cup of the stuff is ridiculous, it’s about the same as the drugs you can buy off the guy standing outside the coffee place. So I have been making coffee, lattes, and espressos for the past 6 years. Over that time I expanded my palate to include experimenting and perfecting iced coffee, Chai Tea, mocha lattes (using a hot chocolate mix). Just recently I decided to step it up a level and make my own syrups, some with no preservatives and additives. I took a simple recipe mixing sugar with water boiling and adding my desired flavour. I made 4 of the classics Chocolate, Vanilla, Cinnamon, and Caramel. I still needed to work on my Caramel recipe, but the others turned out tasty.

Basic recipe

-1/2 cup of water

-1/2 cup of cane sugar

-boil both together

For Cinnamon Syrup

Add 3 cinnamon sticks
For Vanilla Syrup

Add Vanilla bean

-Turn off heat and let it sit, cool, & stir.

For Chocolate Syrup follow the same directions but change ingredient measurements.

-1/2 cup water

-1/4 cup cane sugar

-1/3 cup cocoa powder

Quick, Easy, delicious!

XOXO Clarabelle

Leave a Reply

et cetera
